Dar unveils trio Golf Series’ grand finale

DAR ES SALAAM: IT was all but smile when three Tanzanians won slots to represent the country in the NCBA Golf Series grand finale at Sigona Golf Club course in Nairobi, Kenya on December 1st this year.

The first-ever NCBA Golf Series Dar competition successfully ended at the Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club (DGC) in the Dar es Salaam course over the weekend.

The competition overall winners Salim Shariff, the second-placed Seif Mcharo and ladies gross winner Ayne Nagombe, are  the three envoys secured place to represent Tanzania in the grand finale that will also involve series  winners from Uganda, Rwanda and Kenya.

DGC’s golfer, Shariff carded 76 gross to win the first-ever NCBA Dar Series beating a strong field of over 140 golfers across the country in an 18-hole battle.

Morogoro Gymkhana Club captain Mcharo carded 77 gross, a shot behind the winner to finish second, while Magombe, a Tanzania Ladies Golf Union (TLGU) Vice-President won the ladies’ title after grossing 81 strokes.

Apart from the tickets to represent the country at the grand finale, Shariff was also awarded an executive golf bag and two nights for 2 at Sea Cliff Hotel voucher while Mcharo was awarded an executive golf bag and Magombe received an executive bag and fuel voucher worth 500,000/-.

They were awarded in the prize-giving ceremony graced by Bakari Machumu, the Managing Director of Mwananchi Communication Limited Gilman Kasiga and the chairperson of golf bodies, Queen Siraki.

Top banks officials; Claver Serumaga Chief Executive Officer (CEO) NCBA Bank Tanzania and Uganda CEO Mark Muyobo also attended the prize-giving ceremony.

The top prize in the grand finale is 100,000ksh award to each of the top three winners.

These are the overall winner, men winner and the lady winner.

He said that they plan to organise the similar event in Arusha, Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam in future.

Amandeep Dhani had an impressive 69 nett score to win the men’s A Division title, while Jaques Botha who netted 70 strokes  and DGC Chairman Lese Sayore who netted 73 strokes, finished second and third respectively.

The Division B title went to Kiki Ayonga who carded 68 strokes as  Shahzore Bawa was second with 69 strokes and the former TGU Chairman, Joseph Tango netted 70 strokes, finishing third.

Fahmy Mbarak beat Harshid Barmeda on countback after the duo tied on 74  strokes while Bernhard Haegle who netted 75 strokes, was third.

Maryanne Mugo, who also beat Yasmin Chali on count back after tying on 77 strokes won the ladies’ silver division while the bronze went to Catherine Mabula who netted 74 strokes as Bhat Rana who shot 76 strokes, finished second.

Related Articles

Back to top button