Samia wins legends’ plaudits

DAR ES SALAAM: FORMER footballers have hailed President Samia Suluhu Hassan for issuing a free charter plane for the national football team ‘Taifa Stars’ to Morocco for 2026 FIFA World Cup African qualifiers match against Niger.

The national team is scheduled to face Niger on Saturday at Stade de Marrakech in Morocco, which Niger have chosen as their home venue for the World Cup qualifiers.

After the Niger match, on November 21st Taifa Stars will host Morocco in their second World Cup qualifying match at Benjamin Mkapa Stadium in Dar es Salaam.

Former Mtibwa Sugar midfielder, Charles Ndilime welcomed the President’s gesture, saying that it will motivate the players to work hard on the pitch, flying high the Tanzanian flag in the away fixture.

Abdul Ntilla, a former player for Majimaji FC, also praised President Samia, saying that the motion has come at the right time as the national team plays two consecutive key matches.

The players will now be able to travel comfortably, which will allow them to focus on the match and perform to the best of their abilities.

The former players urged the Taifa Stars’ charges to put in their best efforts on the pitch and deliver positive results, as there is nowhere else to get tangible results other than on the ground.

It is worth noting that Eritrea has pulled out of the race, leaving Morocco, Zambia, Congo, Niger and Tanzania in Group E.

These games are of paramount importance for the Tanzanian national team to record success and increase their chances of doing well in the qualifiers.

The full squad summoned for Niger and Morocco games comprises goalkeepers Beno Kakolanya (Singida Big Stars), Aishi Manula (Simba), Abuutwalib Mshery (Young Africans), Kwesi Kawawa (Karlslunden, Sweden) and Metacha Mnata (Young Africans).

Defenders are Dickson Job (Young Africans), Bakari Mwamnyeto (Young Africans), Ibrahim Hamad (Young Africans), Lusajo Mwaikenda (Azam), Nickson Kibabage (Young Africans) and  Haji Mnonga (Aldershot Town, England).

Others are Abdulhamid Banda (Richards Bay, South Africa), Edward Manyama (Azam), Abdulmalik Zakaria (Namungo), Omary Mvugi (FC Nantes, France), Novatus Miroshi (Shakhtar Donetsk, Ukraine) and Edwin Balua (Tanzania Prisons).

Midfielders are Ibrahim Joshua (Tusker FC, Kenya), Mzamiru Yassin (Simba), Sospeter Bajana (Azam), Baraka Majogoro (Chippa United, South Africa), Feisal Salum (Azam), Mudathir Yahya (Young Africans), Morice Abraham (FK Spartak, Serbia), Himid Mao (Tala’ea El Gaish, Egypt) and Ludaki Chasambi (Mtibwa Sugar).

Attackers in the national team squad are Mbwana Samatta (PAOK FC, Greece), Simon Msuva (JS Kabylie, Algeria), John Bocco (Simba), Abdul Suleiman (Azam), Ben Starkie (Basford Utd, England), Matteo Antony (Mtibwa Sugar), Charles M’mombwa (Macarthur, Australia) and Clement Mzize (Young Africans).

Related Articles

Back to top button