Nape forms 9-member committee to assess media, journalists’ welfare

Minister for Information, Communication and Information Technology Nape Nnauye has formed a nine-member committee to assess the economic status of media houses as well as Tanzanian journalists’ welfare.

Addressing journalists in Dodoma, Tuesday, the minister said the formed committee has been given 90 days to accomplish the task.

“The committee will gather information regarding journalist affairs including contracts, correspondents in the regions and others who work with our media in the news career. We want to know how contracts are being honoured,” He said. “What we want is to protect the interests of journalists. We ask journalists to cooperate with the team by providing necessary information.

Mr Nape picked Azam Media’s Chief Executive, Tido Mhando to chair the committee while the Director of Information Services and Chief Government Spokesperson, Gerson Msigwa has been appointed as the committee’s Secretary.

Apart from Mhando and Msigwa, other members are the Executive Director of the Tanzania Media Women’s Association (TAMWA) Dr Rose Reuben, Managing Director for ITV/Radio One, Ms Joyce Mhaville, Clouds Media Group Head of Content Sebastian Maganga and the Managing Director of Mwananchi Communications Ltd, Bakari Machumu.

Others are director of the Union of Tanzania Press Clubs (UTPC), Keneth Simbaya, Jacquline Woiso from Digital Satellite Television, commonly (DSTV) and veteran photographer Richard Mwaikenda.

Related Articles

Back to top button