Maiden BDL League brightens Dar today

EIGHT matches open this season’s Basketball Dar es Salaam League that tips off at the Don Bosco Oysterbay courts in the city today.

It is a basketball festival once again in Dar es Salaam, according to association’s Technical and Competition Director, Haleluya Kavalambi who insisted yesterday that everything is in place for the league to tip off as planned.

The league, according to Kavalambi, will start with men’s league official opening ceremony today while the women’s league to be officially launched this Sunday.

There will be four matches this Saturday  in  men’s league and the other four on Sunday when the league marks its first week, according to the league fixture.

According to the fixture, the first game will be between Mgulani and Ukonga Warriors and later it will be a battle of supremacy between Jogoo and DB Oratory.

After the two games, the league’s official opening ceremony will be conducted.

The third game of the day will pit the defending champions Pazi against Ukonga Kings and then Vijana City Bulls will lock horns with Dar City at the same venue.

The Sunday basketball festival will be opened by a game between Kurasini Divaz and DB Troncatti before Pazi Queens meeting City Queens.

After the women’s league official opening ceremony, Vijana Queens will welcome Ukonga Queens and the day’s last game will pit Mchenga Queens against DB Lioness.

This year’s league has seen an increase of the women’s teams from seven to 12 while men’s league has 16 teams from 15 in the past.

Among the big changes this season including the name of league itself. It is now officially known as BDL(Basketball Dar es Salaam League) and not RBA (Regional Basketball Association) league as it was previously known.

According to the association, the decision to change the league’s brand name is due to the change of the association’s name.

Men’s league teams in this season include the defending champions Pazi, ABC, Oilers, Chui, Dar City, Polisi, Don Bosco Oratory and Savio.

Others are JKT, UDSM Outsiders, Jogoo, Ukonga Kings, Mchenga, Ukonga Warriors, Mgulani JKT and Vijana City Bulls.

The women’s league teams listed are Don Bosco Lioness, JKT Stars, Jeshi Stars, Kurasini Divas, Mchenga Queens, Pazi Queens, Ukonga Queens, City Queens, UDSM Queens, Police Stars and Don Bosco Troncatti.

After the round stage, the top eight  teams will qualify for the playoff stage.

Related Articles

Back to top button