Pamoja bid wins: Tanzania, Kenya & Uganda to host AFCON 2027

EGYPT, Cairo THREE East African member states; Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda have been named as joint hosts of the 2027 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

Africa’s football governing body announced this in Cairo, Egypt on Wednesday afternoon.

Senegal, Botswana, and Egypt submitted their request to host the 2027 AFCON, but the EAC trio’s submission sailed through, according to CAF’s President Patrick Motsepe.

Speaking at the occasion, the CAF boss said he has strong belief that the 2027 AFCON finals will be successful.

He also point out that winning an opportunity to host AFCON finals is a good platform for marketing, investment and tourism development.

“Football brings us together and we do not want this competition to be held in one zone of the continent,” he says.

Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) president Wallace Karia was among the country’s delegation that attended the meeting and were in joyous mood after the victory.

It is a good news for the three countries and another step forward for Tanzania football development.

Morocco will host the 2025 edition.

Related Articles

Back to top button