Envoys to Kagame Cup unveiled

TANZANIA: TANZANIA is set to showcase its football prowess with four prominent clubs vying for glory in the upcoming Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA) Kagame Cup to be hosted in the country.

The Mainland Premier League three sides Young Africans, Simba and Coastal Union and Zanzibar League champions JKU SC have secured spots in this highly anticipated tournament, scheduled to take place in Unguja and Dar es Salaam, from July 6 to July 22 this year.

Furthermore, the excitement does not end there, as three formidable guest teams are set to join the fray, adding an extra layer of competition.

TP Mazembe from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nyasa Big Bullets from Malawi, and Zambia’s Red Arrows FC confirmed joining 13 other teams from the CECAFA Zone to colour the prestigious event.

Initially, the event was slated for July 20th to 4th August but because of the eventful CAF calendar, the competition has been rescheduled so that it kicks off earlier and ends a few days before the start of the 2024/2025 CAF Club competitions.

Also Read: Tanzania to feature in Africa wrestling tourney

The decision was made to ensure that the CECAFA Kagame Cup concludes just before the commencement of the continental clubs’ competitions, allowing time for the teams that will engage in the CAF Champions League (CCL) and Confederation Cup (CCC) to regroup ahead of the events.

CECAFA Executive Director John Gecheo expressed his optimism about the Cecafa tournament’s impact on the region’s football landscape saying the competition will help the teams in the zone to prepare better in the pre-season ahead of the continental two major inter clubs’ Competitions.

Gecheo added that with the inclusion of powerhouse teams from DR Congo, Malawi, and Zambia, the tournament promises to be a true test of skill and resilience for participating clubs.

However, in light of preparations for the CECAFA Kagame Cup, the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup 2024 which was earlier scheduled from June 29th to July 14th, has been cancelled.

This decision aims to afford players plenty of time to fine-tune their skills and strategies with their respective teams in anticipation of the prestigious Kagame Cup.

With an impressive lineup of teams from across the region, including reigning champions and perennial contenders, the stage is set for an exhilarating display of football prowess at the CECAFA Kagame Cup 2024.

Teams that are lined up for the CECAFA Kagame Cup 2024 are Vital ‘O (Burundi), APR FC (Rwanda), El Merreikh, Al Hilal, Hai El Wadi (Sudan), Young Africans SC, Simba SC, Azam FC, Coastal Union FC (Tanzania), Gor Mahia FC (Kenya), SC Villa (Uganda), JKU SC (Zanzibar), El Merreikh FC-Bentiu (South Sudan), Nyasa Big Bullets FC (Malawi), TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Red Arrows FC (Zambia).

Related Articles

Back to top button