Bizarre AFCON results boost to Stars

DAR ES SALAAM: SURPRISING results recorded in the ongoing Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals in Ivory Coast have been described as a morale boost to Taifa Stars.

The country’s envoys will take on Morocco ‘The Atlas Lions’ in their first group F match at Laurent Pokou Stadium in San Pédro, Ivory Coast tomorrow.

There have been unexpected results in some of the AFCON matches where minnows have embarrassed higher-ranked opponents. Cape Verde defeated Ghana 2-1 in their Africa Cup of Nations opener on Sunday and Egypt, one of Africa’s giants huffed and puffed before they were awarded an added time penalty to get a 2-2 draw against Mozambique.

Former football players and fans believe Taifa Stars have what it takes to produce major upsets in AFCON matches.

“Indeed, surprising results are coming out from the AFCON contest, and this is a clear testimony that the game of football has drastically transformed,” said former Simba player Dua Saidi.

He further narrated that even the same thing can emerge during the much-awaited Taifa Stars game versus Morocco.

“The advantage we have now is that some of the players who have been included in the senior team play outside the country, this alone is a big thing to us,” he said.

Similarly, former Young Africans player Bakari Malima noted that he trusts that Taifa Stars will do well against Morocco and make Tanzanians proud.

“If you look at teams like Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau, and others, they have many players who have exposure of playing in Europe regardless of the Divisions they play,” he said.

Meanwhile, after facing Morocco, Tanzania will take on Zambia on Sunday before completing their mission against DR Congo on Wednesday, January 24th.

Already, Tanzanians have a strong belief that this time, their team will stamp new records in Ivory Coast.

The full 27-member squad tasked for the 2023 AFCON mission has the following players, Goalkeepers: Aishi Manula, Beno Kakolanya and Kwesi Kawawa, Defenders: Haji Mnoga, Mohammed Hussein, Lusajo Mwaikenda, Abdulmalik Zakaria, Abdi Banda, Dickson Job, Ibrahim Bacca, Bakari Mwamnyeto, Novatus Dismas and Miamo Danilo.

Midfielders: Feisal Salum, Himid Mao, Mzamiru Yassin, Sospeter Bajana, Ben Starkie, Tarryn Allarakhia, Mudathir Yahya and Morice Abraham.

Strikers: Mbwana Samatta, Simon Msuva, Mohammed Omar, Charles Mmombwa, Kibu Denis and Cyprian Kachwele.

Related Articles

Back to top button