BFT upbeat for Africa Zone Four conquest

BOXING Federation of Tanzania (BFT) is upbeat Tanzanian pugilists will sparkle in the Africa Zone 4 Championship next week.

Tanzania will host the zonal boxing meet in Dar es Salaam from April 18th to 22 this year. According to BFT’s Secretary General Mashaga Makore, 22 pugilists forming the national men’s and women’s teams have already pitched a camp ahead of the zonal championship.

Tanzania will host the championship to be staged from April 18th to 22nd this year in Dar es Salaam, according to BFT Secretary General, Makore Mashaga. Mashaga said over 14 nations are expected to participate in the tournament.

Speaking on the selected pugilists, Mashaga said it was made after conducting a qualifying competition and those who performed well have been selected.

“The qualifiers were held at JKT Mgulani gym from where a team of 16 men and 6 women was selected from 56 boxers who participated.

“The nominated boxers were those who showed good ability by defeating their opponents from three different camps and later improved their boxing skills through training held at Ngome, Magereza and JKT Mgulani,” he said.

He said the nominated boxers will train at one of the centres of JKT Mgulani because it has good infrastructure to to host effective boxing training.

He named the countries heading to Dar es Salaam for the zonal championship as Kenya, Uganda, Burundi, Rwanda, Ethiopia, Somalia, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Congo Brazzaville, Central Africa, Gabon, Cameroon and Equatorial Guinea.

The nominated boxers for the men’s team are Karim Juma, Yohana Keneth, Abdallah Salum, Hassan Waziri, Rashid Mrema, Alex Isendi, Mohamed Swalehe and Atanas Ndiganya. Others are Joseph Philip, David Chanzi, Joshua Shadrack, Alphonce Abel, Yusuf Changalawe, Nizza Abdulrahman, Geoffrey Peter and Alex Sitta.

The women are Rahma Maganga, Mariam Richard, Shakila Abdallah, Aisha Idd, Leila Yazidu and Beatrice Ambrose.

The team will be led by coaches Samuel Batman, Hassan Mzonge, Muhsin Mohamed, Rogata Damian, Undule Lang’son and Haji Abdallah while the Technical Committee will be manned by Michael Changarawe from Mwanza and Robert Suluhu from Dar es Salaam.

Related Articles

Back to top button