Amrouche: It’s time for Stars to show maturity

TAIFA Stars Coach Adel Amrouche said he has included some young players in the 30-man squad so as to give them exposure and experience in the international matches.

The country’s envoys are preparing for a must-win Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) match against Niger at Benjamin Mkapa Stadium in Dar es Salaam this Sunday.

Unveiling his charges yesterday in the city, Amrouche has involved several young players who will earn experience and impact the future Taifa Stars.

He also remarked that doors are always open to Tanzanian players within or outside the country who are passionate about serving the national team as long as they are competitive.

Moreover, Amrouche wished Taifa Stars first-choice goalkeeper Aishi Manula a speedy recovery as he continues to nurse the injuries he sustained while on duty.

A victory over the Nigerians will enable Taifa Stars to collect seven points in the standings that will give them a better chance to qualify for the AFCON finals before their last away game with Algeria.

Another group F encounter will see Algeria, who have already qualified for the finals, entertain Uganda in an explosive fixture set to draw the attention of many football fans.

The just revealed squad comprises the following players: Goalkeepers; Beno Kakolanya (Simba), Metacha Mnata (Yanga), Zuberi Foba (Azam) and Vuai Makame (KMKM).

Defenders: Dickson Job (Yanga), Datius Peter (Kagera Sugar), Kibwana Shomari (Yanga), Abdi Banda (Chippa United-South Africa), Mohamed Hussein (Simba), Bakari Mwamnyeto (Yanga), Ibrahim Bacca (Yanga), Kennedy Juma (Simba) and Lameck Lawi (Coastal Union).

Midfielders: Himid Mao (El-Mahalla-Egypt), Mzamiru Yassin (Simba), Novatus Dismas (Zuite Waregem-Belgium), Idrissa Bilali (FK Gorazde-Bosnia), Aziz Andabwile (Singida Fountain Gate), Ben Starkie (Basford United-England), Mudathir Yahya (Yanga), Raphael Daudi (Ihefu), Morris Abraham (FK Sportak Subotica-Serbia) and Adolf Bitegeko (Volsungur FC-Ireland).

Strikers: Simon Msuva (Al-Qadsiah FC-Saudia), Abdul Suleiman (Azam), Kibu Dennis (Simba), Mbwana Samatta (Genk-Belgium), Adi Yussuf (Brackley-England), Tiba John (Hatta Club-Emirate) and Bernard Kamungo (FC Dallas, America).

Related Articles

Back to top button