EIGHT nations qualified for AFCON 2023 quarterfinals

A complete package of eight teams qualified for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) quarterfinals is confirmed.

They are hosts Ivory Coast, Mali, Nigeria, DR Congo, Cape Verde, South Africa, Angola and Guinea.

South Africa who face Cape Verde in the last 8 sealed the deal after outclassing title favourites Morocco 2-0 on Tuesday night.

Not many people anticipated such a surprising result as Morocco’s Lions of Atlas were given a big advantage to proceed with the journey.

Meanwhile, the battle for the semis begin on Friday with two hot games as Nigeria host Angola while DR Congo face Guinea.

On Saturday, the early match sees Mali taking on Ivory Coast before witnessing Cape Verde against South Africa.

Related Articles

Back to top button