2022 RBA League: The eagle has landed

2022 RBA League: The eagle has landed

DAR ES SALAAM Basketball Association (BD) has made slight changes in the fixture of the coming RBA League ahead of its tipoff at the Benjamin Mkapa Indoor Stadium today.

Haleluya Kavalambi, the federation’s Technical and Competitions Director said in Dar es Salaam yesterday that preparation has been finalised and the league will start as planned today at the same venue.

He said the changes has affected the defending Champions Savio’s fixture against ABC which was to be played on the opening day, but it has been moved to next weekend.

However, the Saturday’s opening day will stage a five-match showdown.

 “We have been forced to make minor adjustments in the fixture, because the DTB team is not registered for this year's league battle,” he said.

This means that fifteen men and seven women’s teams will now battle it out for the top honours.

“Everything is going fine, we are glad that many teams registered for this year’s event as we expect it to be a tough league on the both disciplines,” added Kavalambi.

Men’s category teams include the reigning champions Savio, ABC, Oilers, Chui, JKT, Police, Jogoo, UDSM- Outsiders, Kurasini Heat, Ukonga Kings, Mchenga, Ukonga Warriors, Mgulani JKT and Vijana City Bulls.

Women’s teams are Don Bosco Lioness, Mchenga Queens, Jeshi Stars, Vijana Queens, Kurasini Divaz, JKT Stars and Ukonga Queens.

Savio's match against ABC will now be played next Saturday, and it will be revised from the last year's final play-off battle that made Savio win the championship title.

The opening day will start at 10:00hrs with a match between JKT and Mgulani JKT, followed by Ukonga Kings who play against Ukonga Warriors (12: 00hrs) and after the match there will be a seminar for all players and the teams’ officials, according to Kavalambi.

Vijana who are pitted against Jogoo will play their match at 16:00hrs and after that there will be a match between Oilers and ABC and later Pazi will  lock horns with Kurasini Heat.

The league will continue on Sunday with four matches. On that day Jeshi Stars will face Kurasini Divas in the women’s discipline while Chui will lock horns with Mchenga in the men’s category.

Later JKT Stars will return to the court to face Vijana Queens before Police conclude the day in a match against Outsiders.

Kavalambi said that the league will be played every weekend and will run until August 21st this year.

Eight top teams will sail through to the quarterfinal’s play-off on August 24th this year.

Nabi: We will leave no stone unturned

AFTER extending the unbeaten run ...


Post your comments



Recent Posts


more headlines in our related posts

latest # news