US Lifts COVID Travel Ban on 8 African Countries

US Lifts COVID Travel Ban on 8 African Countries

The U.S will end the ban on visitors from eight southern African countries including South Africa despite an alarming spread of the omicron variant of the coronavirus.

President Joe Biden issued a presidential proclamation Tuesday revoking a proclamation put in place last month that enacted travel restrictions on travel from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi.

The proclamation will be effective beginning Dec. 31.

"The travel restrictions imposed by that proclamation are no longer necessary to protect the public health," Biden said in the new proclamation.

Biden’s Tuesday proclamation noted that scientists have determined that people vaccinated against Covid-19 "are protected against severe disease and hospitalization from the Omicron variant." 

It also said that the variant is now in over 100 countries and is "prevalent" in the US, where cases have been rising for weeks. It said that "substantial progress" has been made in understanding the Omicron variant.


Author: By DAILY NEWS Reporter

Post your comments



Recent Posts


more headlines in our related posts

latest # news