Dstv Dailynews  Mobile

Influx of candidates greets TFF race

THE Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) General Election has attracted an influx of contenders after the number of candidates for the presidential post reached seven.

The federation’s Media and Communication Officer Clifford Ndimbo confirmed this through a press statement, where he noted the list of contenders.

Among the nominees that have been pointed are notable figures such as the Kinondoni constituency Member of Parliament, Tarimba Abbas, famous sports analyst Ally Mayay Tembele and the outgoing president Wallace Karia.

Other candidates who have collected forms to vie for federation’s top post nomination include Deogratius Mutungi, Evans Mgeusa, Oscar Oscar and Zahor Mohammed Haji.

In the Executive Committee category, the candidates are Lameck Nyambaya, Liston Katabazi and Michael Petro (for regional zone 1 - Dar es Salaam, Lindi, Morogoro, Mtwara and Coast).

Other candidates include Khalid Mohamed (for regional zone 2 - Arusha, Kilimanjaro, Manyara and Tanga); Mohamed Aden and Osuri Kosuri took forms for regional zone 4 (Dodoma, Shinyanga, Simiyu and Singida).

Through a statement, Ndimbo explained that the forms are still available online through the TFF website, where forms will be available until today.

TFF Election Committee Chairman, Kiomoni Kibamba issued a statement to the media recently, opening doors for candidates interested to run for the Federation posts.

He noted that the posts that will be contested for during the election are TFF president and six members of the Executive Committee.

The highly-awaited TFF general election will be held on August 7th, this year in Tanga Region.

Presidential aspirants will secure nomination forms at the cost of 500,000/- while executive committee candidates will cough up 200,000/-.

Kibamba said all payments should be made through TFF account number 01J1019956600, CRDB Bank, Holland House branch.

The statement further noted that all applicants will be obliged to attach their pay slip, while returning their nomination forms at the TFF offices.

TFF, which was previously known as Football Association of Tanzania (FAT), is the governing football body in Tanzania. It was founded in 1930 and has been affiliated to FIFA since 1964.

FAT existed until 2004 when the new name TFF came into force after the body’s General Assembly held on 27th December of the same year amended the constitution to conform with FIFA status.

Incumbent presidents Wallace Karia succeed Jamal Malinzi in August 2017 during the polls held in Dodoma.

Malinzi held the office from 2013 to 2017, having succeeded Leodegar Tenga, who held the office from 2004 to 2013. Tenga is credited for transforming the federation.

MAINLAND Premier League giants Young Africans are reportedly ...


Post your comments





Recent Posts


more headlines in our related posts

latest # news

Yanga snatch Zambia Kambole on loan deal

less than a minute ago DAILY NEWS REPORTER/ AGENCIES

Race to TFF posts get more intense

less than a minute ago CLECENCE KUNAMBI

Athletes lured to register for MOI Half Marathon

less than a minute ago DAILY NEWS REPORTER