Ajib, Mkude re-drafted, Stars squad for CHAN named

PLAYMAKERS Ibrahim Ajib and Jonas Mkude have been re-called to serve the national football team, Taifa Stars ahead of the upcoming African Nations Championships (CHAN) qualifiers against Kenya.

The two Simba SC stars have won the trust of the team’s interim Head Coach Etienne Ndayiragije who succeeds the former Nigerian trainer Emmanuel Amunike who was recently sacked by the Tanzania Football Federation (TFF).

Both Ajib and Mkude were dropped from the final squad of the senior team which travelled to Egypt for what coach Amunike described as lack of discipline by the duo.

The neighbouring nations face off in the first leg clash on July 28th at the National Stadium in Dar es Salaam in a match likely to refresh wounds suffered by Taifa Stars in the group stages of the progressing Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals in Egypt. The return match will be played on August 4 in Nairobi, Kenya.

However, from the yesterday’s unveiled 26 member squad named by Ndayiragije, a number of new faces have been included on board to reinforce the team before the final clash.

The full released list has the following names Aishi Manula (Simba), Juma Kaseja (KMC), Metacha Mnata (Young Africans), Paul Godfrey (Young Africans), Boniface Maganga (KMC), Gadiel Michael (Simba), Paul Ngalema (Namungo FC), David Mwantika (Azam FC), Iddi Mobi (Polisi Tanzania) and Kelvin Yondani (Young Africans).

Others are Erasto Nyoni (Simba), Jonas Mkude (Simba), Abdulaziz Makame (Young Africans), Mudathir Yahaya (Azam), Ibrahim Ajib (Simba), Salim Aiyee(KMC), Saloum Aboubakar (Azam), Masoud Abdallah (Azam), John Bocco (Simba) and Ayoub Lyanga (Coastal Union).

The list also has Kelvin John (U-17), Feisal Salum (Young Africans), Frank Domayo (Azam), Hassan Dilunga (Simba), Iddy Nado (Azam) and Shaban Chilunda (Azam).

YOUNG Africans continued to lose ground in the ...


Post your comments

Recent Posts


more headlines in our related posts

latest # news