MTV, BET take TMA 2024 to another level

Dar es Salaam: THIS year’s Tanzania Music Awards are set to be aired on MTV and BET, the TMA’s committee has announced.

The two channels will serve as the media partners and sponsors for the event.

They have jointly selected six categories whose winners will be invited to attend the prestigious BET Awards in the United States on June 30.

Christine Mosha, also known as Seven and the Vice-Chairperson of TMA 2024, made this announcement during a press conference held in Dar es Salaam. She stated that the TMA awards for this year will be showcased on MTV and BET television networks.

“The winners of the selected categories will be given the opportunity to attend the awards ceremony, pre and post parties, and mingle with African artists who may also be nominated for the music awards.

“The pre-party will feature various performances, providing the artists with a platform to showcase their talent. This collaboration between TMA, MTV, and BET aims at elevating the recognition and celebration of Tanzanian music on an international scale.”

The Executive Secretary of the National Arts Council, Kedmon Mapana, announced that the Tanzania Music Awards (TMA) for 2023/2024, under the auspices of the Minister for Culture, Arts, and Sports, Damas Ndumbaro, are scheduled to take place on June 15 this year.

The TMA committee, chaired by David Minja and vice-chair Christine ‘Seven’ Mosha, has been working diligently to ensure the success of the awards.

To enhance the international stature of the awards, TMA will host a ‘TMA Prelude’ night on June 14, a day before the main event, to honour industry luminaries.

In order to ensure deserving winners, the committee will prioritise input and advice from stakeholders in the Tanzanian and African music scenes.

The eligibility period for submissions is from January 1 to December 31, 2023. Artists are required to submit their entries between March 26 and April 20.

Fan voting will be open from April 29 to May 29, with the tabulation of votes scheduled for June 7.

The results will be announced during the official award ceremony on either

Related Articles

Back to top button