Karagwe DC: Oxygen plant nears completion

KARAGWE District Commissioner (DC), Mr Julius Laiser has appealed to residents to ensure that  they safeguard infrastructures being built by the government in various areas in the region.

He hailed President Samia Suluhu Hassan for her efforts to improve various social sectors including health and education.

The made the remarks on Thursday after visiting the ongoing construction of the district hospital at Kayanga Ward in Nyakanogo village.

Karagwe District Medical Officer (DMO), Dr Kareem Abdallah informed him that the project also involved the construction of an oxygen plant that was in final touches.

“The completion of the oxygen plant was a milestone because in the past patients had to travel a long distance of 600- km to Bugando Medical Centre (BMC), in Mwanza City for the service,” he said.

Elaborating, Dr Abdallah said the government recently allocated over 800m/- for the construction of four buildings including a female surgical ward, which had to-date recorded 98 per cent completion while a male surgical ward had recorded 97 per cent completion.

Meanwhile, Mr Laiser explained that the construction of the public girls’ secondary school in Kagera Region had to-date recorded 60 per cent completion.

“The project completion was delayed by continuing rains, but implementation of the project had recorded 60 per cent completion. The contractor has been directed to increase speed and labour force and ensure that the project is completed before June 30th, this year, because the money is available” he said.

The Parliamentary Administration and Local Governments Affairs Committee expressed dissatisfaction over the slow pace in the construction of the public secondary school in Kagera Region. The House Committee called upon the authorities to ensure that the project is completed soon.

Chairman of the committee, Mr Jaffari Chaurembo (MP), made the remarks in October, last year while receiving a report on the implementation of  the ongoing project involving  construction of government-owned  girls’  secondary schools in ten regions.

The regions include Ruvuma, Dar es Salaam, Lindi, Kagera, Songwe, Singida, Coast, Mwanza, Shinyanga and Njombe. Each region had been allocated 3bn/- for implementing the project.

Related Articles

Back to top button