Dar kicks off U-17 AFCON preps


TANZANIA officially launched the 2019 Total U-17 Africa Cup of Nations preparations yesterday by unveiling the event’s organising committee. The members of the committee were unveiled yesterday in Dar es Salaam by the Minister for Information, Culture, Arts and Sports, Harrison Mwakyembe.

The committee, according to the Minister is tasked to organise and ensure all preparations for the Confederation of African Football (CAF)-level championship are done to the desired levels.

The committee appointed by Dr Mwakyembe comprises various prominent figures in the country including the ministers, permanent secretaries, regional commissioners, heads of various government organisations and notable business figures, making a strong 25- member committee.

“We are facing a big challenge which we must overcome at any cost and because of that the government has formed a 25-man committee from which other mini committees will be established to ensure the whole hosting mission meets a desired goal,” said the Minister.

The Minister said the year 2019 is not far away and that’s why the committee held its first meeting immediately after its establishment and the appointment of its members was conducted by the Committee Chairman , Vice Chairman and the Secretary.

The committee chaired by Minister Mwakyembe comprises the former President of Tanzania Football Federation (TFF), Leodgar Tenga as the Vice Chairman and Henry Tandau as its secretary. According to Mwakyembe, all members of the committee have accepted their appointment, including the Minister for Natural Resources and Tourism, Hamis Kigwangalla, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Finance and Planning, Dotto James and the Dar es Salaam Regional Commissioner (RC), Paul Makonda.

Also in the committee are the Commissioner General of Immigration, Anna Makakala, Tanzania National Parks (TANAPA) Director General, Allan Kijazi and , Conservator of the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority (NCAA), Freddy Manongi.

Other members of the committee are TFF Vice President, Michael Wambura, Head of Law faculty at the Open University of Tanzania (OUT), Dr Damas Ndumbaro, Dr Francis Michael from UDSM faculty of Law, Mohamed Enterprises Ltd (MeTL Group) Chief Executive Officer, Mohammed Dewji, Said Salim Bakhresa & Co Ltd Managing Director, Abubakar Bakhresa and the Director of Sports Development in Ministry of Information, Culture, Arts and Sports, Dr Yusuph Singo.

As well, there are Director General of the Parastatal Pensions Fund (PPF), Wiliam Erio, Director General Muhimbili National Hospital (MHN), Dr Lawrance Maseru, Director General of Air Tanzania Corporation (ATCL), Eng Ladislaus Matindi, and Managing Director of the Tanzania Tourist Board (TTB), Devotha Mdachi and SportPesa Head of Marketing, Kelvin Twisa.

Temeke Municipal Director, Nassib Mmbagga, TFF Competition Committee, Chairman, Ahmed Mgoyi, Chairman for youth development committee in the federation, Khalid Abdallah, Angetile Osiah from Mwananchi Communications and Lameck Nyambaya a member of TFF Executive Committee.

This is the first time for Tanzania to host continental level finals, the opportunity which Mwakyembe, said must be well utilised to promote the country’s sports and tourism globally.

CardealPage Co. Ltd
Gwiji la Habari Tanzania
Official Website for TSN
Sponsored Links
Advertise Here