Mwakyembe names five members of Star Times investigation team

Home News

MINISTER for Information, Culture, Arts and Sports, Dr Harrison Mwakyembe yesterday named five members from Tanzania who will be part of a special committee to investigate why Star Media (Star Times) Tanzania Limited was not making profit since it started its operations in the country.

A statement issued in Dar es Salaam yesterday by the ministry spokesperson, Zawadi Msalla named the committee members to be led by the Director of the Tanzania Information Services, Dr Hassan Abbas as Kyando Evod (from the Ministry of Information), Tanzania Communications Regulatory Authority (TCRA) has two members Frederick Ntobi and Eng James Kisaka, while from the Tanzania Broadcasting Corporation (TBC) is Mr Mbwilo Kitujime.

The committee was served with almost eight terms of references and is supposed to issue a report in seven days. However, the committee which is supposed to comprise ten members awaits the names of five members from China to know why for the past seven years, Star Media has failed to make profit.

TBC entered into a joint venture with Star Media in February 2010 supporting the country’s transformation from analogue to digital technology, making Tanzania the first country in Africa to achieve digital migration

CardealPage Co. Ltd
Gwiji la Habari Tanzania
Official Website for TSN
Sponsored Links
Advertise Here