S. Sudan appoints first 9 EALA representatives

Home News

MEMBERS of Parliament (MPs) in South Sudan’s unity government have approved the appointment of nine members picked to represent the country at the East African Legislative Assembly in Arusha.

This will be the first time that South Sudan is going to be represented in the Regional Assembly after Juba was accepted to become the 6th member of the East African Community in March, last year. Other EAC members include Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, Burundi and Tanzania which hosts its Headquarters in Arusha.

The Arusha-based East African Legislative Assembly is the legislative body of the East African Community, which is composed of nine elected members by the legislatures of each member state. At least there should be two women among the nine MPs.

South Sudan, according to a statement from the EAC Secretariat here, becomes the first country to name its nine EALA representatives for the next regional Assembly, as Tanzania gets to name its own next April. The selected representatives are from different political parties including the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement in Opposition (SPLM-IO) led by Taban Deng Gai.

The Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SLPM) nominated six members including two women, while the SPLM-IO nominated two members. Juba nominated Gabriel Garang Aher Arol, Gabriel Alaak Garang, Gai Deng Nhial, Ann Ito, Thomas Tut- and Isaac Aziz Justine Basugbwa.

Meanwhile Joseph Ukel Ubango, leader of the United Sudan African Party (USAP) was nominated to represent the other political parties while Adil Elias Sandrai and Gideon Gatpan represent the SPLM-IO.

On the other hand, the Tanzanian National Assembly is expecting to vote for the nine legislators that will represent the country into the next East African Legislative Assembly, during the next budget session, starting April.

An official s t a t e m e n t from the Bunge’s Communications Department in Dodoma dispatched by the Head of the Section , Mr Owen Mwandumbya, on Thursday, revealed that the next Parliamentary session commences on the 4th of April, this year, while nominations for EALA posts started yesterday.

The current East African Legislative Assembly Members from Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania were sworn in 2012 and have their mandates end on the 4th of June 2017 when the next panel gets under oath.

The outgoing Assembly made record for being the first to impeach its siting Speaker, Dr Margaret Nantondo Zziwa from Uganda whose recent bid to appeal was overruled by the East African Court of Justice.

CardealPage Co. Ltd
Gwiji la Habari Tanzania
Official Website for TSN
Sponsored Links
Advertise Here